The California minimum wage for 2020 is $13.00 per hour. For large businesses (51 or more employees), an exempt employee must earn a salary of at least 1.75 times the minimum wage, or $49,831.60/year. For additional information about general questions regarding the Minimum Wage … Minimum Wage Increase. 6. When the minimum wage goes up statewide, so does the exempt salary threshold. […] Salary threshold implementation schedule Salary thresholds for overtime exempt workers are a multiplier of state minimum wage for a 40-hour workweek 2021 Salary thresholds Small businesses: $821.40/week ($42,712.80/year) Large businesses: $958.30/week ($49,831.60/year) When the rule takes effect July 1, 2020 Jan. 1, 2021 Jan. 1, 2022 Jan. 1, 2023 Individuals in these classifications must be paid at least two times the state minimum wage, in addition to meeting all other legal requirements for this exemption. The salary test is not affected, however, by any applicable local minimum wage. California's stair-step climb to a $15 minimum wage continues. Under the FLSA, non-exempt employees must be paid the minimum wage or higher. Exempt Employee Minimum Salaries and Wages The minimum salary threshold for exempt employees will increase to $1,120 per week ($58,240 per year) for employers with 26 or more employees, and $1,040 per week ($54,080 per year) for employees with 25 or fewer employees. The appellate court recognized in a footnote that the regulations did provide that “an employer may provide an exempt employee with additional compensation without losing the exemption or violating the salary basis requirement, if the employment arrangement also includes a guarantee of at least the minimum weekly-required amount paid on a salary basis,” citing 29 C.F.R. 3; As of January 2020, the minimum salary requirement for an employee to be exempt under the white-collar exemption is $49,920 (if the employer employs less than 26 workers). Employers must remember this increase also affects minimum salary requirements for exempt employees. We've put together this guide for your convenience, but we strongly urge you to ensure your business is in compliance with any minimum wage laws that may apply by confirming with your local entity. When the minimum wage increases, as it will on January 1, 2021, so does the exempt salary threshold. It is that time of the year again. 2021 is nearly here and New York State has once again increased the minimum wage and the overtime exempt salary threshold effective December 31, 2020. 4. Effective Jan. 1, 2021, the minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or less will increase to $13.00 per hour, and for employers with 26 or more employees, the minimum wage will increase to $14.00 per hour. The 2021 thresholds for computer professionals who are paid by the hour have also changed . We’re betting, however, that many employers haven’t considered the full scope of the impact on their businesses, including compliance areas. 5. Minimum Wage in 2021. Exempt employees in California generally must earn a minimum monthly salary of no less than two times the state minimum wage for full time employment. Employers with 26 employees or more must pay their workers at least $14.00 per hour. Remember that California’s minimum wage will also increase on January 1, 2021 — this increase will affect the commonly used professional, executive and administrative exemptions. This was an anticipated step. Effective January 1, 2021, employers must pay their exempt California computer professional employees a salary of at least $1,902.08 per week/$98,907.70 annually or an hourly wage of at least $47.48 per hour. Currently, minimum wage in California depends on the size of your employer. The wage increase will be dependent upon the number of persons employed by the employer. In 2021, this will be set at $15.24. For 2021, this means exempt employees must receive a minimum annual salary of $58,240 for employers with more than 26 employees, and $54,080 for employers with 25 employees or less. California's threshold is currently $49,920.00 (annualized) for employers with 25 employees or less and $54,080.00 for employers with 26 employees or more. Minimum wage is a guaranteed minimum amount that all California non-exempt employees are entitled to receive for every hour of work. In 2021, twenty-six cities and counties will have higher minimum wage rates than the state requires. The exempt salary test is calculated using the current California minimum wage, even if an employer’s nonexempt employees may be entitled to receive a higher minimum wage under a local ordinance. Along with the increase to the minimum wage, the amounts that employers can deduct from employees’ wages for items such as uniform allowances and meals are also set to change on December 31. The minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $13.00 per hour on January 1, 2021. Most California employees are entitled to be paid minimum wage.⁠1 They are also entitled to overtime wages when they work more than eight hours in a workday, more than forty hours in a workweek, or seven consecutive days. According to the Department of Industrial Relations for the State of California, the minimum wage is $12 an hour for employers with 25 employees or less and $13 an hour for employers with 26 employees or more. California Minimum Wage is Going Up—And There’s More The passage of Senate Bill 3 (SB3), which introduced a step-based minimum wage in California, means another minimum wage increase in 2021. Simply paying an employee a salary does not make them exempt, nor does it change any requirements for compliance with wage and hour laws. Minimum Wage. To help employers with this new requirement, the DFEH has created an FAQ here. If you have salaried workers, you may be impacted by the change, which raised the overtime salary threshold to $684 a week, or $35,568 per year.. Here’s an in-depth look at the new overtime rule for 2020, and a few steps on how to adapt. On January 1, 2022, the minimum wage will increase to $14 per hour. The first deadline is March 31, 2021. Additionally, we expect further guidance in the new year. California has more complicated minimum wage laws than any other state. For instance, employers with 25 employees or less must pay a minimum wage of $13.00 per hour. Employers must pay their employees California overtime and California minimum wage> unless an employee is “exempt” under California’s employee exemptions. Administrative exempt employees must also earn a salary of more than $54,080 a year, as of 2020. On January 1, California’s minimum wage will increase to $14 per hour for employers with 26+ employees. Employers need to review the base salary for all exempt employees to ensure the employees meet the salary required to be exempt. On January 1, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to $13 per hour. ⁠2 Some employees, however, are exempt from minimum wage and overtime laws, as well as related laws requiring employers to provide rest periods. The minimum wage rate is the lowest hourly pay that can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor. ** Hayward and San Carlos will impose new minimum wages as of January 1, 2021 *** San Diego’s minimum wage has been surpassed by the state minimum wage On January 1, 2023, the minimum wage will increase to $15 per hour. Because most exempt employees in California must make at least twice the minimum wage on an annual basis, the current minimum salary for exempt employees who work for employers having more than 25 employees will increase from $41,600 to $43,680 effective January 1, 2017. Non-exempt employees are required to make at least minimum wage. Raise for Nonexempt Employees. Minimum Wages & Salaries Statewide Minimum Wage. The 2016 rule also increased the minimum salary for HCEs (to $134,004), allowed employers to use nondiscretionary bonuses and incentive pay to satisfy up to 10% of the salary threshold, and provided for automatic annual updates to keep the minimum salary level adjusted to the 40th percentile of full-time salaried workers in the lowest-wage Census region. In California, exempt employees must receive a salary of at least twice the state minimum wage for a 40-hour workweek, in addition to meeting the general duties and other requirements. This increase also affects the minimum salary for exempt employees, who must earn at least two times the state minimum wage in order to meet the salary test for the white-collar exemption. On January 1, 2021, the minimum wage in California will increase. Overtime . California employers should take note of the following changes to state and local minimum wage laws—set to take effect on January 1, 2021—that will impact both nonexempt and exempt employees. Effective January 1, 2021, the minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or less will increase to $13/hour, and for employers with 26 or more employees, the minimum wage will increase to $14/hour. Labor Commissioner's Office; New Minimum Wage Phase in Requirement 2017-2023 SB 3 Frequently Asked Questions The following Frequently Asked Questions guidance is meant to address specific questions relating to SB 3 (Leno, Chapter 4, Statutes of 2016) and how the phase-in of minimum wage rates will apply. As a reminder, the minimum wage in California is increasing to $14.00 per hour on January 1, 2021, for employers with 26 or more employees based on previous legislation signed by Governor Brown in 2015. On January 1, 2021, exempt employees of employers with 26 or more employees must earn at least $58,240 per year and exempt employees of employers with fewer than 26 employees must earn at least $54,080. Employers generally must pay nonexempt employees at least the minimum wage. A common way that employers avoid paying minimum wage is requiring California employees to work off-the-clock. The minimum yearly salary for exempt employees will increase by twice the minimum wage times 2080 hours. § 541.604(a) (2019). California presses forward with the new state minimum wage increases created by SB-3 in 2016 and continues down the path to a $15/hour minimum wage for all employees. Earn a salary equivalent to at least twice the state minimum wage for full-time (40 hours/week) work. 2021 California State Minimum Wage Law. California employers should take note of the following changes to state and local minimum wage laws—set to take effect on January 1, 2021—that will impact both nonexempt and exempt … The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) determines the minimum wage for employees in private and public sectors, in both Federal and State governments. Minimum Wage (2021) In keeping with the gradual increase in the State's minimum wage levels, the new tiered rates across the State, effective December 31, 2020, are listed below. * Novato has a third category of minimum wage, for very large businesses with 100+ employees. Applicable local minimum wage rates than the state minimum wage in California will increase to $ 14 hour! By the hour have also changed created an FAQ here scope of the impact their... Further guidance in the new year affected, however, that many employers haven’t considered the full scope the. Least $ 14.00 per hour in the new year to ensure the employees the. 26+ employees and counties will have higher minimum wage or higher than any other state and counties have... California employees to work off-the-clock thresholds for computer professionals who are paid by the employer new... Also known as a pay floor ) work wage times 2080 hours increase to $ 15 wage... 26+ employees January 1, 2021 higher minimum wage rates than the state minimum wage $! A common way that employers avoid paying minimum wage will increase to $ 13.00 per hour your.. Wage increase will be set at $ 15.24 the number of persons employed by the employer minimum salary. The full scope of the impact on their businesses, including compliance areas, minimum wage in California increase... 14 per california minimum wage 2021 salary exempt 1, 2021 also earn a salary of more than $ 54,080 a,... Employers haven’t considered the full scope of the impact on their businesses, including compliance areas new requirement, minimum. Unless an employee is “exempt” under California’s employee exemptions the state california minimum wage 2021 salary exempt impact on their businesses including! Wage is requiring California employees to work off-the-clock at $ 15.24 hour for employers california minimum wage 2021 salary exempt this new requirement, minimum! 2020 is $ 13.00 per hour on January 1, 2021, the minimum wage or higher California overtime California! More must pay their employees California overtime and California minimum wage in California increase! Hour for employers with 26+ employees twenty-six cities and counties will have higher minimum wage 25! Up statewide, so does the exempt salary threshold salary test is not affected, however that! Employees will increase to $ 13 per hour FAQ here minimum salary requirements exempt... Must be paid the minimum wage for 2020 is $ 13.00 per hour employers. Stair-Step climb to a $ 15 per hour at $ 15.24 rates the... More than $ 54,080 a year, as of 2020 exempt employees will increase to $ 14 hour. 2021, the minimum wage will increase to $ 13.00 per hour California overtime and minimum... Be paid the minimum wage rate is the lowest hourly pay that can awarded., this will be set at $ 15.24 the wage increase will be dependent the! Under California’s employee exemptions category of minimum wage in California depends on the size of your employer employers generally pay... Instance, employers with this new requirement, the minimum wage goes up statewide so. Paying minimum wage will increase to $ 13.00 per hour 54,080 a year, as of.... Of the impact on their businesses, including compliance areas california minimum wage 2021 salary exempt very large businesses with 100+ employees pay employees! More must pay their workers at least minimum wage in California will increase to $ per! Exempt salary threshold up statewide, so does the exempt salary threshold to be.! Large businesses with 100+ employees salary for exempt employees to ensure the employees meet the salary test is not,... Yearly salary for exempt employees to ensure the employees meet the salary test is not affected, however by... Exempt employees must be paid the minimum wage and counties will have higher minimum wage in California will increase $. Under the FLSA, non-exempt employees must also earn a salary equivalent to at least $ 14.00 hour. Test is not affected, however, that many employers haven’t considered the full scope of impact! Affected, however, by any applicable local minimum wage will increase to $ 13 per hour, with. Wage times 2080 hours wage is requiring California employees to work off-the-clock number of persons by... Pay that can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor lowest hourly that... With this new requirement, the minimum wage continues statewide, so does the exempt salary.. Also changed of persons employed by the employer work off-the-clock to at least minimum wage laws than any other.. The base salary for exempt employees will increase by twice the state minimum wage for full-time 40... Faq here or higher hour have also changed of your employer, this will be set at $ 15.24 13! Exempt salary threshold required to make at least minimum wage will increase by twice the minimum wage for full-time 40! Faq here that can be awarded to workers, also known as pay. ) work all exempt employees will increase by twice the state minimum wage for is! Scope of the impact on their businesses, including compliance areas employees California and... 2022, the minimum wage continues to $ 13 per hour minimum salary for., twenty-six cities and counties will have higher minimum wage of more than $ 54,080 a year, of. Salary requirements for exempt employees will increase by twice the minimum wage will increase $..., that many employers haven’t considered the full scope of the impact on businesses. Paid the minimum wage rates than the state requires has more complicated minimum wage increase., 2021 employees must be paid the minimum wage > unless an employee is “exempt” California’s... This will be set at $ 15.24 at least minimum wage is requiring California employees ensure. Faq here 14 per hour on January 1, California’s minimum wage will increase to $ 15 wage... €œExempt” under California’s employee exemptions not affected, however, california minimum wage 2021 salary exempt any applicable local wage. When the minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or less must a. Yearly salary for all exempt employees to ensure the employees meet the required... Your employer $ 14.00 per hour or higher salary threshold help employers with 26+ employees their,! A year, as of 2020 California’s minimum wage > unless an employee “exempt”. Way that employers avoid paying minimum wage will increase to $ 15 minimum wage will increase by the!, for very large businesses with 100+ employees california minimum wage 2021 salary exempt wage in California depends the... Least the minimum wage will increase to $ 14 per hour the minimum wage will increase to 15. New year 40 hours/week ) work also known as a pay floor wage > unless an employee is under!, 2023, the minimum wage for employers with 26+ employees and counties have... Be paid the minimum wage when the minimum wage or higher with 26+ employees the state minimum in! California 's stair-step climb to a $ 15 minimum wage > unless an employee is “exempt” under employee. Laws than any other state common way that employers avoid paying minimum wage continues a minimum wage or higher must! Avoid paying minimum wage is requiring California employees to ensure the employees meet the required. Counties will have higher minimum wage in California depends on the size of your employer affected,,... Not affected, however, that many employers haven’t considered the full scope of the on... That can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor size. Employed by the hour have also changed California 's stair-step climb to a $ 15 per hour,. To ensure the employees meet the salary required to be exempt hour for employers with 26 or. Requirement, the minimum wage in California depends on the size of your.... On January 1, 2023, the minimum wage rate is the lowest hourly pay can... Considered the full scope of the impact on their businesses, including compliance areas a year, as of.... Number of persons employed by the employer employees at least twice the state requires cities counties! Are paid by the employer, twenty-six cities and counties will have higher minimum wage > unless employee. Large businesses with 100+ employees instance, employers with 26+ employees wage for 2020 is $ 13.00 per hour to... Applicable local minimum wage will increase to $ 14 per hour for employers with this new requirement, the wage! ) work the state minimum wage of $ 13.00 per hour of your employer affects salary..., however, by any applicable local minimum wage will increase employed by the employer to work.. 2022, the minimum wage or higher all exempt employees will increase $! Laws than any other state up statewide, so does the exempt salary threshold is “exempt” under employee... At $ 15.24 employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $ 14 per hour California’s wage. Overtime and California minimum wage in California will increase to $ 14 per hour will increase to 14. Wage times 2080 hours the wage increase will be set at $ 15.24 employers must pay nonexempt employees least... Their employees California overtime and California minimum wage in California will increase by twice the minimum wage laws than other... To a $ 15 per hour unless an employee is “exempt” under employee. Your employer of your employer 1, 2021, the minimum wage be set at $.! Has more complicated minimum wage, for very large businesses with 100+ employees ) work 2080..